fokipi.blogg.se

Deus ex machina movie
Deus ex machina movie













“It took so long during my incarceration, firstly with the long recovery period from my three surgeries. She also said it took her around nine years to finish writing her memoir because of the difficulties she encountered when she started writing it during her hospital arrest. The last part is her post-presidency until she took her oath as Speaker of the House of Representatives. Part 4 of the book is her entry into the presidency while Parts 5 and 6 are her years as president. Divine Providence.”Īrroyo said the book has seven parts, which starts from her birth and marriage to her entry in politics to Edsa One to her years in the Department of Trade and Industry until she topped the senatorial elections.

deus ex machina movie

I would not have been the constitutional successor to the Presidency in 2001. As number 12 winner in 1992 rather than top placer in 1995, I would have been just another reelectionist senator in 1998 and not the winning candidate for vice president. Little did I know that within a decade, I would become president, which might not have been if I had been able to reclaim those few thousands of lost votes in 1992 and squeaked into a six-year Senate term in 12th place. But over the long weeks of canvassing, from 5th place I slid back to 7th place, then 8th, then 9th, then 10th and then for a long time, I rested at 11th place, then to 12th, before ending at 13th place, just missing 12th place by a few thousand votes, for a three-year rather than a six-year term,” she added.Īrroyo continued, “I was elected as three-year-term senator in 1992, bitter that I missed a six-year term by a small margin. Imagine my elation when the vote canvassing opened and the initial returns catapulted me into seventh place, then fifth place among candidates. “In the second half when the local candidates officially started their campaigns, I jumped up to number 17 and then number 14 in the surveys. A supporter from Iloilo, Sandra Sarabia Gorriceta, told me that her son studying in Manila was not even aware of my candidacy,” said Arroyo, citing her book. In the first half of the campaign, the surveys did not show me in the Magic 24 group. The top 12 would serve for 6 years and the next 12, 3 years. “When I ran for senator in 1992, 24 Senate seats were up for grabs. It was my brother Boboy who suggested using it in the title,” he added.ĭuring the launch, Arroyo read an excerpt of her book in which Divine Providence or Deus Ex Machina played a big part-her placing 13th in the 1992 elections and her subsequent topping the senatorial elections in 1995, which in turn led her to be considered a vice presidential candidate in the 1998 elections. Divine Providence has played such an important role in my career, and I refer to it in several instances in the memoir, interchangeably with the more secular term deus ex machina. But for those who trust in the Lord, there is, and it’s called Divine Providence. “In realpolitik there is no deus ex machina.

deus ex machina movie

In explaining her choice of title, Arroyo said “Deus ex machina is a plot device in ancient Greek drama whereby a seemingly unsolvable problem in a story is suddenly and abruptly resolved by an unexpected and unlikely occurrence.”

deus ex machina movie

Many people were also asking me to write my memoirs, for some to correct the many misconceptions that keep getting repeated, and for many others because of my experiences both in politics and as the daughter of a President,” she said. “Traditionally, former presidents write their memoirs to provide a record of their time in office. In a video interview, Arroyo said she had been asked by many people to write her memoir since former presidents traditionally write theirs. In a virtual launch with members of her family, former members of her Cabinet and close friends, both in and outside of politics, Arroyo said she decided to write her book to share her experiences in politics and correct some of the misconceptions about her.

deus ex machina movie

Former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo on Wednesday unveiled her memoir entitled “Deus Ex Machina.”















Deus ex machina movie